The Rare Time When Monday Isn’t Awful

November 25, 2013 at 10:05 am | Posted in media | Leave a comment

After having slept on it for a night, I’m still pretty pleased with the Dan Haren signing. It’s not guaranteed to work, because nothing is, but the risk/reward here is tilted heavily in the favor of the team, and that’s always a nice place to be in. Jason Collette at FanGraphs agrees this morning, as does Paul Sporer, who calls it “a great signing and especially smart.”

In the meantime, I have a whole lot of fun stuff going on today, which almost certainly means that the Dodgers will do something insane while I’m out and about.

** First off, over the weekend I received Hardball Times Baseball Annual 2014, which is great not only because it’s great, but because two chapters within were written by yours truly. (This may make it less great, depending on your point of view.) I wrote the 2013 NL West recap, detailing the birth of the Dodgers / Diamondbacks feud, as well as a retrospective on just how the team went from the depths of McCourt pain to respect and the playoffs in only two years. It’s of course full of other great writers with interesting takes as well, so more than worth your time to check out.

** There’s six different paths Ned Colletti could go in when looking at the overstuffed outfield. Which is the most likely? I spend far too many words investigating at FanGraphs.

** Later this morning, I’ll be doing an interview with the Wall Street Journal for a story on whether pitcher wins are bogus. Spoiler alert: they are.

** Finally, and since this should be pretty fun I should probably have had it in giant font up front: I’ve been invited to come out to the MLB Network studios and be a guest on Brian Kenny’s Clubhouse Confidential today, which I believe has a live airing at 3:30pm ET and then repeats later in the day. I imagine I will not have changed my opinion on pitcher wins by then.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

