Wait, What?!

October 14, 2009 at 3:25 pm | Posted in 2009 NLCS vs. Phillies, Randy Wolf, Vicente Padilla | 10 Comments

An update to “Kershaw starts Game 1” from earlier, also from the official blog: (actually, it was from the official Facebook page – hey, MSTI has a Facebook page, hint hint)

UPDATE:

Rotation will be Kershaw, Padilla, Kuroda, Wolf

Wow. It doesn’t surprise me in the least that Hiroki Kuroda takes Chad Billingsley’s spot, and that’s an argument for another day. But Vicente Padilla in Game 2? Randy Wolf bumped all the way down to Game 4?! What is that about?

I’m sure there’s a perfectly good reason for that; I just can’t think of what it might be. With all of the issues the Phillies have against left-handed starters, why wouldn’t you want to use Kershaw and Wolf in Games 1, 2, 5, and 6?

Plus, I get how good Padilla’s been as a Dodger. I do, and I have no problem with him getting a start. But is he really our second best pitcher? I can’t wait to see what Torre’s reasons are behind this.

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Sounds like Wolf’s got an owhee.

  2. I’d swap Kuroda and Padilla’s starts. Philly fans don’t need additional motivation to boo Kuroda for throwing at Victorino from last year’s NLCS. A Game 2 start means Kuroda will pitch both Game 2 and a possible Game 6 at home.
    If we want to make it to the World Series, we’re going to need a 3rd pitcher. With Wolf being iffy, bank on Kuroda being healthy enough to give us a 2-0 lead before the series heads back to Philly.

  3. It’s nice having Billingsley in our back pocket, if Kuroda and Wolf are ailing.
    It would be good to see Chad come out and return to top form during these playoffs. It would be a wonderful confidence builder and career boost for him.

  4. You probably remember that Vincente Padilla pitched in Philly…I read that he is not well-like there, and I’m guessing that Joe wants him to pitch in friendlier confines. When you add to that the fact that Randy Wolf has a lot of experience pitching in Citizen’s Bank and seemingly possesses the temperament to withstand the pressure in Philly, the rotation order seems to make at least a little more sense.

  5. Padilla pitched FOR Philly, is what I meant.

  6. Padilla pitched FOR Philly, is what I meant.

  7. I don’t like the idea of Randy Wolf pitching in Philadelphia. The possibility for him to give up a home-run would only increase, and he’s already pretty bad at giving up the long ball.

  8. I’m with you in this, man. But, I really wanted to comment to tell you how much I think of this blog. I’ve been reading it often during the season, and it’s wonderful. It makes me feel like I’m going through this with a smart, informed friend. Keep it up.

  9. Joes thinking is go with who has been best lately. Wolf dropped on basis of one bad start and Padilla moved up after two great efforts. We’ll have to see how this works

  10. [...] This just drives the point home further that pushing Randy Wolf back to Game 4, behind Kuroda, was a huge mistake. Sure, it’s possible that Kuroda would still have been this bad if he’d started [...]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers

